Matt Southern – Search Engine JournalSEO, Search Marketing News and TutorialsTue, 04 Aug 2020 01:20:13 +0000en-UShourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.4.2Google: Be Careful Relying on 3rd Parties to Render Website Content via @MattGSouthern/google-be-careful-relying-on-3rd-parties-to-render-website-content/376547/?utm_source=sej-feedTue, 04 Aug 2020 01:20:13 +0000/google-be-careful-relying-on-3rd-parties-to-render-website-content/376547/Google’s Martin Splitt cautions site owners about the challenges that come with using JavaScript content rendered by third-parties, such as blog comment sections.

The post Google: Be Careful Relying on 3rd Parties to Render Website Content via @MattGSouthern appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
41% of Google’s First Page Contains Links to Google Products via @MattGSouthern/41-of-googles-first-page-contains-links-to-google-products/375954/?utm_source=sej-feedSat, 01 Aug 2020 02:03:38 +0000/41-of-googles-first-page-contains-links-to-google-products/375954/Results of a recent study show nearly half of the first page of Google’s search results is made up of links to its own products.

The post 41% of Google’s First Page Contains Links to Google Products via @MattGSouthern appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Twitter is Considering These Premium Features in a Subscription Model via @MattGSouthern/twitter-is-considering-these-premium-features-in-a-subscription-model/376287/?utm_source=sej-feedSat, 01 Aug 2020 00:05:53 +0000/twitter-is-considering-these-premium-features-in-a-subscription-model/376287/Twitter is actively exploring the option of adding a premium subscription model that would give users access to exclusive features.

The post Twitter is Considering These Premium Features in a Subscription Model via @MattGSouthern appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
New Google Easter Egg Makes Search Results Dance via @MattGSouthern/new-google-easter-egg-will-get-you-dancing/376280/?utm_source=sej-feedFri, 31 Jul 2020 19:58:42 +0000/new-google-easter-egg-will-get-you-dancing/376280/Google is commemorating the 20th anniversary of the “Cha-Cha Slide” with a unique Easter egg that literally gets the search results moving.

The post New Google Easter Egg Makes Search Results Dance via @MattGSouthern appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Doubles Up on Articles in the Top Stories Carousel via @MattGSouthern/google-doubles-up-on-articles-in-the-top-stories-carousel/376252/?utm_source=sej-feedFri, 31 Jul 2020 15:41:23 +0000/google-doubles-up-on-articles-in-the-top-stories-carousel/376252/Google’s top stories carousel in search results may display multiple results for the same story, adding a second link for context.

The post Google Doubles Up on Articles in the Top Stories Carousel via @MattGSouthern appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Maps Goes Social Giving Each User Their Own Profile via @MattGSouthern/google-maps-goes-social-giving-each-user-their-own-profile/376194/?utm_source=sej-feedThu, 30 Jul 2020 20:53:37 +0000/google-maps-goes-social-giving-each-user-their-own-profile/376194/Google is turning Maps into a social network of sorts by giving each user their own profile filled with photos and reviews they’ve submitted.

The post Google Maps Goes Social Giving Each User Their Own Profile via @MattGSouthern appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
LinkedIn’s Sharing API is Broken, Not Fetching Images via @MattGSouthern/linkedins-sharing-api-is-broken-not-fetching-images/376178/?utm_source=sej-feedThu, 30 Jul 2020 19:40:29 +0000/linkedins-sharing-api-is-broken-not-fetching-images/376178/There are currently issues with sharing links on LinkedIn, as its sharing API is not fetching display images.

The post LinkedIn’s Sharing API is Broken, Not Fetching Images via @MattGSouthern appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Highlights Black-Owned Businesses in Search Results via @MattGSouthern/google-highlights-black-owned-businesses-in-search-results/376149/?utm_source=sej-feedThu, 30 Jul 2020 15:20:50 +0000/google-highlights-black-owned-businesses-in-search-results/376149/Google is extending its support for Black-owned businesses an update to Google My Business and an announcement of two new initiatives. 

The post Google Highlights Black-Owned Businesses in Search Results via @MattGSouthern appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Updates Search Console With More Structured Data Support via @MattGSouthern/google-updates-search-console-with-more-structured-data-support/376139/?utm_source=sej-feedThu, 30 Jul 2020 13:40:24 +0000/google-updates-search-console-with-more-structured-data-support/376139/Google is updating Search Console with support for image license structured data, which can now be tested with the Rich Results tool.

The post Google Updates Search Console With More Structured Data Support via @MattGSouthern appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Advises Site Owners of Rise in ‘Work From Home’ Searches via @MattGSouthern/google-advises-site-owners-of-rise-in-work-from-home-searches/376077/?utm_source=sej-feedThu, 30 Jul 2020 01:25:27 +0000/google-advises-site-owners-of-rise-in-work-from-home-searches/376077/Google is notifying site owners via Search Console of an increase in searches related to work from home jobs.

The post Google Advises Site Owners of Rise in ‘Work From Home’ Searches via @MattGSouthern appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>